TVCC's Regional Accreditation

Treasure Valley Community College has been continuously accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) since 1966, in compliance with standards for institutions of higher education.

NWCCU is a regional postsecondary accrediting agency recognized by the US Department of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). Some TVCC programs are additionally accredited by professional organizations.

TVCC reviews and evaluates the entire institution in a multi-year cycle, analyzing effectiveness by testing against the standards developed and revised over time by the membership of NWCCU.

TVCC's goal is to demonstrate how effective we are in fulfilling our mission and the plans that support that mission. The accreditation process should enhance our own focus on quality and excellence.

In addition to the institutional accreditation, the following programs receive additional accreditation from:

2014 Mid-Cycle Self-Evaluation

NWCCU Mid-Cycle Report

NWCCU Accreditation Reaffirmed: 2012

TVCC's accreditation was re-affirmed August 2012 as a result of the 2012 Spring Ad hoc Self-Evaluation Report.
A required Progress Report on five recommendations was submitted in August 2012, with a follow-up site visit in October 2012.
Spring Ad hoc Self-Evaluation Report

Feb. 4, 2013 - NWCCU letter affirms compliance for accreditation (in response to report and site visit in October 2012)
 NWCCU letter 

Accreditation Standards

TVCC is accredited by the NWCCU

New Standards and Timeline

  • TVCC has entered a new accreditation cycle, with revised standards and a seven year timeline.
  • New standards require institutions to identify a mission, core themes, and indicators of achievement across all areas of the college.
  • Specific standards focus on student learning by identifying the key learning outcomes for students in academic programs, determining if students are achieving those outcomes, and working to improve student achievement.
  • Under the seven year cycle, 4 reports are completed and 2 visits are hosted in year three and year seven. Each report addresses different standards and builds upon the previous reports.

Timeline: 2011-2018

Fall 2011: Year One Report, Standard 1
Standard 1: Mission, Core Themes, Expectations

Fall 2014*: Year Three Report, Standard 2 and update to Standard 1
Standard 2: Resources and Capacity

Fall 2014* Site Visit

Fall 2015: Year Five Report, Standards 3 and 4, and update to previous standards
Standard 3: Planning and Implementation
Standard 4: Effectiveness and Improvement

Fall 2017: Year Seven Report, Standards 5, and update to previous standards
Standard 5: Mission Fulfillment, Adaptation, and Sustainability

Fall 2017: Site Visit

Fall 2018: Year One Report, Standard 1
Standard 1: Mission, Core Themes, Expectations


* NWCCU postponed our year three report and the site visit originally scheduled fall 2013 to fall 2014.